For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Bekijk de site in het Nederlands

Lecturer of Biology John van Boxel has been named Faculty of Science Lecturer of the Year. This was announced during 'UvA Hours of Education'. Van Boxel received the most votes within the Faculty of Science and was thus elected Faculty Lecturer of the Year by students and employees of our faculty.

Due to the corona measures, 'UvA Hour of Education' was broadcast this year via online live streams. After an opening speech by Rector Magnificus Karen Maex and an interview with Monique Volman, an expert in the field of online education, the winners of the different faculties were announced one by one.

John van Boxel, the winner of the Faculty of Science Teacher of the Year, was unfortunately unable to personally attend the announcement, because he was teaching at the time.

What voters say

Rector magnificus Karen Maex describes why Van Boxel was named Faculty of Science Lecturer of the Year this year.

Maex: ‘According to his students, Van Boxel is a passionate teacher who knows a lot about his field of meterology and climate. Even during the corona era, he was able to convey his knowledge to his students in a very enthusiastic way. In addition, according to the voters, he also incorporates a lot of humor and interaction into his lessons to ensure that every student understands the material. His stories resonate with students. Their view of clouds has changed forever.’

About John van Boxel

John van Boxel teaches meteorology, climatology and climate change. He is affiliated with the Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics (IBED). Van Boxel also contributes to many other courses that have a climate change component, both at master's and bachelor's level. He also supervises bachelor and master students with their theses.

In the past, Van Boxel has conducted research into boundary layer meteorology, the air flow over coastal dunes, aeolian sediment transport and dune restoration. Today his research focuses on climatology, climate change, paleoecology and paleoclimates.

Lecturer of the Year election

The lecturers of the UvA Teaching & Learning Center have been organizing the annual Lecturer of the Year election since 2007 in collaboration with the students of the Central Student Council. This election is intended to put teachers in the limelight. This year, 71 lecturers at the Faculty of Science have been nominated as faculty winners. Across the UvA, more than 1,200 students nominated a lecturer for the title of Lecturer of the Year. The winner of all faculties will be announced on 7 October.

Other winners

Dr. Steven Rudinac (EB), Prof. Dr. Joep Leerssen (FGw), Samar Mosa (ACTA), Mr. Fatjon Kaja (FdR), Dr. Jos Bramer (FdG) and Dr. David Bos (FMG) were also elected as faculty lecturer of the year.

We congratulate John van Boxel with the honorary title of Faculty Lecturer of the Year!